Too Cold For Rivers

DSC_0004-2Karen and my friend Lee were raving about how they wanted to go for a walk, so, naturally, I geared up and headed out. We parked downtown to wander the riverfront and… didn’t even make 100 yards from the car. Not even five minutes in, and both of them had decided to wuss out from the cold and head back. I made sure to grab some photos from the bridge, since I had to shoot something.

Just a shot of the river from the bridge would be boring though. So, I used an old fallback of slowing the shutter speed down to about 1/15 of a second to get the motion of the water and used the railing on the bridge to keep the camera stable during the long exposure. Even then, I felt like it was still too dull to share, so I had some fun with it in Lightroom. Now that I feel like I made it into an interesting image, I fear I may have overdone the editing. I wasn’t even going to post this here, but my friends who saw it kept telling me how much they liked it. What do you think?

One thought on “Too Cold For Rivers

  1. Pingback: The Spring River | Sam's Thing a Day

Leave a Reply

